All about New Zealand's volcanoes, their most recent activity, and how we monitor them.

Auckland Volcanic Field

The Auckland Volcanic Field is made up of over 50 separate volcanoes scattered across New Zealand's largest city.

Kermadec Islands

The Kermadec Islands include Raoul Island, 1,000 km north-east of New Zealand.

Mayor Island

Lying 50 km north of Tauranga, Mayor Island is the smallest caldera volcano in New Zealand.


Ngauruhoe is a young cone that has grown on the south end of the Tongariro complex.


Northland includes the Kaikohe-Bay of Islands, Puhipuhi and Whangarei volcanic centres.

Okataina Volcanic Centre

The Okataina Volcanic Centre includes Tarawera, source of the most lethal eruption in New Zealand's recorded history.


Formed about 220,000 years ago, Rotorua caldera is today a lake next to one of New Zealand's major tourist destinations.


In addition to the usual volcanic hazards, the crater lake of Ruapehu ejects frequent lahars.

Taranaki (Egmont) Volcano

The last major eruption of Taranaki (also known as Egmont Volcano) occurred around 1854; the mountain dominates the productive farmland of the Taranaki region.


Taupo volcano last erupted over 1,800 years ago and is today filled by New Zealand's largest lake.


The Tongariro complex contains multiple volcanic cones; Te Māri crater erupted in twice in 2012.

White Island

New Zealand's most active volcano, White Island, was in a state of frequent eruption from 1976 to 2000.

  • No labels

GeoNet is a collaboration between the Earthquake Commission and GNS Science.

about | contact | privacy | disclaimer | mobile

GeoNet content is copyright GNS Science and is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 New Zealand License